Nalanda, Mahinda, Seenigama and St. Joseph’s into Men’s Semi-Finals at Murali Harmony Cup

Nalanda, Mahinda, Seenigama and St. Joseph’s into Men’s Semi-Finals at Murali Harmony Cup

The four teams making up the men’s semi final at the Murali Harmony Cup were decided during today’s final group games with Nalanda College, Mahinda College, Seenigama Combined Schools and St. Joseph’s College, all making the cut.

All four teams remain unbeaten having dominated their respective groups at the tournament. St. Josephs managed to beat Zahira College in Group B by 7 wickets in Jaffna with S.P. Fonseka contributing a half century for the victors while in Group A the Seenigama Combined Team beat the home Jaffna Combined Schools team by 59 runs. K.U. Imantha struck for the Seenigama team with an impressive four wickets.

In Group C, Nalanda College racked up 175 against St. Aloysius in their final group game and then managed to restrict the latter team to 102 runs in their allotted 20 overs giving them a 73 runs. The match was witnessed by Nalanda old boy and Sri Lanka Cricket Legend, Mahela Jayawardena who also dropped in to the matches played in Jaffna as part of his endorsement of the Murali Harmony Cup. Mahinda College trounced Manna Vavuniya Combined Schools reaching the target set of 80 runs in just 10 overs with an equal number to spare.

Tomorrow’s semi final line up is:

Semi Final 1 ( Boys )

Seenigama Combined Schools v Mahinda College

Morning  9.30 am – 12.40 pm

Semi Final 2 ( Boys )

Nalanda College St. Joseph’s College

Afternoon  1.40 pm – 4.50 pm

Both matches will be played at the IODR Oval in Mullativu



In the ladies tournament Sathya Sandeepani from Seenigama Ladies scored a half century off 28 balls, racking up 8 boundaries, and paving the way for her team’s win with 5 wickets and 21 balls remaining. Along with Seenigama, Matale Ladies and Shakthi Ladies were also winners during today’s games.

The ladies tournament will not contain a semi-final, instead the teams will play through the 24th and the two teams with the highest points will continue to the finals at Kilinochchi Central College Grounds on Sunday 25th.


Scores in Brief

Zahira College 115/8 (20/20 ov)

St. Joseph’s College 117/3 (15.1/20 ov)

Trinco-Batti Combined Schools 113/7 (20/20 ov)

Kingswood College 115/8 (18.3/20 ov)

Nalanda College 175/5 (20/20 ov)

St. Aloysius College 102/7 (20/20 ov)

Royal College 159/6 (20/20 ov)

Up Country Combined Schools 89/9 (20/20 ov)

Jaffna Central College 144/8 (20/20 ov)

Monaragala Combined Schools 143/7 (20/20 0v)

Kaluthara Maha Vidyalaya 140/7 (20/20 ov)

Kilinochchi / Mullaitivu Combined Schools 116 (18.2/20 ov)

Mannar/ Vavuniya Combined Schools 80 (19.4/20 ov)

Mahinda College 84/3 (10/20 ov)

Seenigama Combined Schools 133 (19.2/20 ov)

Jaffna Combined Schools 84/3 (10/20 0v)

Polonnaruwa Ladies 93/5 (15/15 ov)

Matale Ladies 97/3 (11.3/15 ov)

Monaragala Ladies Academy 99/5 (15/15 ov)

Seenigama Ladies 92/6 (12.5/15ov)

Badulla Ladies 90/9 (15/15 ov)

Shakthi Ladies 92/6 (12.5/15 ov)